Rossotrudnichestvo and the Russian Ganza will sign a cooperation agreement

Compressed file

On June 28, the head of Rossotrudnichestvo, E. Mitrofanova, and the president of the Union of Russian Hanseatic Cities, the mayor of Veliky Novgorod, S. Busurin, will sign a cooperation agreement. Agreement will be sent on the development of international cultural and humanitarian relations of the cities of the Union, including in the field of popularization of their cultural heritage.

The Union of Russian Hanseatic cities includes 14 cities: Belozersk, Veliky Novgorod, Veliky Ustyug, Vologda, Vyshniy Volochek, Ivangorod, Kaliningrad, Kingisepp, Pskov, Smolensk, Tver, Tikhvin, Torzhok and Totma. Considering the Hanseatic traditions, the Great Novgorod is considered the capital of the Russian Hansa.

The Russian Hansa is a part of the International Hanseatic League of New Time, which also includes the cities of Belarus, Belgium, Great Britain, Germany, Ireland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Finland, France, Switzerland
and Estonia.

The signing will take place as part of the celebration of the XXXIX International Hanseatic Days of New Time in Pskov. From 27 to 30 June, festivals, round tables, exhibitions, fairs and concerts will be held at various venues of the city with the participation of foreign creative teams.


The Hanseatic League is a trade and political union of northern German cities, formed in the XIV century. countries of Western and Northern Europe, the Baltic States and Russia. Its revival took place in the year of the 700th anniversary of the medieval Hanseatic League. The headquarters of Novaya Ganza is located in Lubeck (Germany).

In 2009, Novgorod the Great became the first Russian city to organize the International Hanseatic Days.